kale caesar slaw

kale.caesar-0309

It’s beginning to feel like summer around here. I like it. I’m ready to make some frozen treats. But first, let’s take care of the important things. Let’s talk about kale.

tuscan kale

This is what I refer to as real life eating. I eat a whole lotta kale behind the scenes around here. Like at least two bunches a week, sometimes three, even four if I’m on a roll. It’s made its way into my eggs in the morning. And I usually have some form of kale for lunch or dinner. I haven’t really gotten into the whole green juicing thing, but I imagine that could happen some day.

caesar fixings

AD and I tried out this recipe for a kale Caesar slaw one night a few months back and since then I find myself making it at least once a week. If you’re looking for a way to incorporate raw kale into your diet, this is a great place to start. The secret to eating raw kale is slicing it into thin ribbons when prepping. I swear this makes a world of a difference. And if you love a classic Caesar salad like I do, this is right up your alley.

kale and stems

This is the kind of salad that easily becomes a meal (I can eat half of it in one sitting – it’s that good). I think the grated hard boiled egg is what really does it for me. But I’m also a sucker for an anchovy-based dressing; if you’re not so keen on anchovies, capers are an excellent substitute. A hunk of crusty bread alongside and a glass of wine and you’re good to go.

kale.caesar-0226

kale caesar slaw 

adapted from epicurious

serves 2-6

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

8 anchovy fillets packed in oil, drained

1 garlic clove

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

splash of Worcestershire sauce

3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 cup finely grated Parmesan, divided

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 hard-boiled egg, peeled

14 ounces Tuscan kale or other kale, center stalks removed, thinly sliced crosswise (about 8 cups, or two bunches)

Combine the lemon juice, anchovies, garlic, Dijon, and Worcestershire in a blender or food processor; purée until smooth. With the machine running, slowly add oil, drop by drop at first, until dressing is creamy. Transfer to a bowl and stir in 1/4 cup Parmesan. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Cover and chill. Dressing can be made 2 days ahead. Keep chilled.

In a large bowl, toss kale and dressing and coat thoroughly (this is easiest done with your hands). Season with salt and pepper. Using a fine cheese grater or a Microplane, grate the hard boiled egg over the kale. Top with remaining parmesan and serve.

kale.caesar-0298

Leave a Reply

